Mas maaga uwi: Curfew in NCR LGUs now from 10 pm to 4am due to Delta variant threat

0 183

Mayors of Metro Manila’s 17 local government units (LGUs) have agreed to set the curfew hours from 10 p.m. to 4 a.m. starting July 25 following the reimposition of general community quarantine (GCQ) with heightened restrictions

Metro Manila Development Authority (MMDA) chairman Benhur Abalos, who is part of the Metro Manila Council (MMC), said the mayors saw the need to balance public health and reopening the economy due to the threat of the COVID-19 Delta variant.

“We need to limit the movement of the public through the imposition of longer curfew hours. Since the Delta variant spreads exponentially, we should not let our guards down and implement necessary restrictions to contain the virus,” he said.

The MMC, which is composed of the 17 local government units of Metro Manila, is the governing body and policy-making body of the MMDA.

The Department of Health recently noted an increase of COVID-19 infections in NCR in terms of growth rate, average daily attack rate, health care utilization rate, and intensive care utilization rate.

NCR’s average daily reported cases for the week of July 16 to 22 is 797.