Kailangan ng commuters! LTFRB: 5K more jeeps back on Metro Manila streets

0 61

Nearly 5,000 more traditional public utility jeepneys (PUJ) have returned to the streets of Metro Manila after almost seven months of quarantine measures due to the coronavirus disease 2019 (Covid-19) pandemic, the Land Transportation Franchising and Regulatory Board (LTFRB) said on Tuesday.

In a Facebook post, the LTFRB said that 4,820 traditional jeepneys have been allowed to ply in 44 new and reopened routes beginning October 10.

“Dahil dito, umabot na sa 27,016 traditional PUJs ang bumibiyahe sa 302 ruta sa Metro Manila simula nang ipatupad ang (Because of this, there are now a total of 27,016 traditional PUJ plying 302 routes in Metro Manila since the implementation of the) general community quarantine (GCQ),” the LTFRB said in a Facebook post.

The 44 new and reopened routes are Bagong Silang-SM Fairview via Maligaya; Bagong Silang Kaliwa –Robinsons Fairview Zabarte; Balintawak — Camarin via Susano; Balintawak — Lagro via Novaliches; Balintawak — Novaliches via Quirino Highway; Kiko Camarin — SM Fairview via Maligaya Park; Malinta –Malolos, Bulacan; Aurora/Lauan — Quezon Memorial Circle; Angono — Araneta, Cubao; Binangonan, Rizal — Marcos Highway; Buso-Buso – Marikina; EDSA Shaw Blvd. – Morong; EDSA Shaw Blvd. – Tanay; Marikina – Pinugay; Arroceros – Project 7 via España; Baclaran – Blumenttrit via L. Guinto, Sta. Cruz; Baclaran – Blumenttrit via L. Guinto, Quiapo;

Baclaran – P. Campa via L. Guinto; Balintawak – Blumenttrit via A. Bonifacio; Balut – Divisoria; Cubao – Remedios via Quiapo, L. Guinto; Dagat-Dagatan – Divisoria Ilaya via Lapu-Lapu Ave.; Dapitan/Delos Reyes – P. Campa via Dimasalang; Dapitan – Pier South via Del Pan; EDSA/Shaw Central – Kalentong/JRC; Frisco – Vito Cruz via Mabini, Quiapo; Malanday – Pier South via McArthur Highway; Malanday – Recto via F. Huertas, Oroquieta; Malanday – Sta. Cruz via F. Huertaz, Oroquieta; Cubao (Mercury) – Roces/Super Palengke; Alabang – FTI via South Super Highway; Baclaran – Moonwalk via Quirino;

Baclaran – Nichols via CAA; Baclaran – Zapote (Las Piñas); BF Homes Subd. – Ikot via Vinmrt (Sucat) Term; Brgy. Ayala/Alabang – Alabang Market (vice versa); Alabang – Balibago; Alabang – Biñan, Laguna; Alabang – Carmona; Alabang – GMA; Alabang – Langgam, San Pedro; Pacita Complex – Sucat, Parañaque; and Talon – Molino Bayan.

Aside from traditional PUJs, the LTFRB said a total of 845 modern PUJs in 48 routes, 4,016 public utility buses in 34 routes, 387 point-to-point buses in 34 routes, 3,263 UV Express units in 76 routes, 20,927 taxis, and 24,356 transport network vehicle services are plying the streets of the National Capital Region.

In a Palace presser on Tuesday, Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque said the Cabinet of President Rodrigo Duterte approved the “one-seat-apart” policy in public transport during the 48th Cabinet meeting on Monday.

Roque said the one-seat-apart policy will replace the “one-meter” physical distancing policy among commuters previously being implemented in public transport.

He said the need to revitalize the economy is the main reason behind the Cabinet’s decision to approve the one-seat-apart policy.

“The fact that we needed really to open the economy because the lockdowns have been causing poverty and malnutrition on the part of our children and the fact that we have the seven commandments,” he said.

The seven commandments for all public transport, he said, are wearing of face masks; wearing of face shield; no talking and no eating; adequate ventilation; frequent and proper disinfection; no symptomatic passengers, and appropriate physical distancing. (PNA)