Poll shows Abby, Joy, incumbent mayors leading Metro mayors race

0 849

Known political names and incumbent leaders are solidifying their lead with big margins against their rivals in the Metro Manila mayoralty race, based on an independent survey conducted a week before the May 13 mid-term elections.

The non-commissioned survey, conducted by the RP-Mission and Development Foundation Inc. (RPMD Inc.) last May 4-8, showed that Joy Belmonte (65 percent) of Quezon City, Abby Binay (60 percent) of Makati City, Toby Tiangco (74 percent) of Navotas City, Imelda Calixto-Rubiano (72 percent) of Pasay City, Lino Cayetano (62 percent) of Taguig City, and Robert Eusebio (61 percent) of Pasig City, are comfortably ahead their respective opponents.

Other frontrunners are incumbent mayors in most cities in Metro Manila. These include Mandaluyong City Mayor Carmelita Abalos (98 percent), Caloocan City Mayor Oscar Malapitan (95 percent), Las Piñas City Mayor Imelda Aguilar (96 percent), Marikina City Mayor Marcelino Teodoro (90 percent), Valenzuela City Mayor Rex Gatchalian (96 percent), Pateros Mayor Miguel Ponce III (77 percent), and Malabon City Mayor Lenlen Oreta (69 percent).

Dr. Paul Martinez of RPMD Inc. said the voters have made up their minds.

Belmonte remains as the leading candidate for mayor with 65 percentage points over Rep. Bingbong Crisologo who got a dismal 30 percentage points while former Rep. Chuck Mathay received 3 percent only.

Incumbent Makati Mayor Abby Binay garnered 60 percentage points, which is a strong lead compared to the 37 percentage points of former Mayor Junjun Binay.

Pasig City Mayor Roberto Eusebio is way ahead at 61 percent against his rival, Vico Sotto, who scored 38 percent.

Former Vice Mayor Isko Moreno is, however, the leading candidate for Manila Mayor at 45 percentage points.

The survey, dubbed as the “Halalan 2019 NCR Survey”, was done with 8,000 registered voters as respondents in the different areas of Metro Manila. (PNA)