Maynilad to replace P422M worth of QC pipes from D. Tuazon to E. Rodriguez

0 1,262

Utility firm Maynilad Water Services, Inc. (Maynilad) is spending about P422 million to replace over two kilometers of old and leaky pipes along the portion of D. Tuazon Street from Scout Alcaraz Street to E. Rodriguez Sr. Avenue in Quezon City.

Replacing the 50-year-old pipes will enable Maynilad to reduce water losses in the area.

After the pipe replacement project, the company expects to recover almost two million liters per day (MLD) of potable water, which can supply the daily requirement of some 2,000 households.

Almost 100,000 people in 11 QC barangays (Doña Josefa Marcos, Lourdes, Maharlika, Manresa, N.S. Amoranto, Paang Bundok, Saint Peter, Salvacion, San Isidro Labrador, San Jose, and Santa Teresita) will benefit from the project once completed this year.

To lessen public inconvenience, Maynilad is using “trench-less technology” to lay the new pipes.

Such construction method involves inserting pliable yet strong pipes through an insertion point, instead of digging up trenches to lay the pipes, thus reducing impact on traffic.

Maynilad is also closely coordinating with the Department of Public Works and Highways, Metropolitan Manila Development Authority, Quezon City Engineering Office, and local barangay officials to further minimize inconvenience to motorists.

“We strive to make our operations more efficient, and part of that effort is to replace old portions of our water distribution system. Through continued investments in network rehabilitation, we not only reduce water losses but also improve water pressure for our customers,” Maynilad President and CEO Ramoncito S. Fernandez said.

Maynilad is the largest private water concessionaire in the Philippines in terms of customer base. It is the agent and contractor of state-owned Metropolitan Waterworks and Sewerage System (MWSS) for the West Zone of the Greater Manila Area, which is composed of the cities of Manila (certain portions), Quezon City (certain portions), Makati (west of South Super Highway), Caloocan, Pasay, Parañaque, Las Piñas, Muntinlupa, Valenzuela, Navotas and Malabon all in Metro Manila; the cities of Cavite, Bacoor and Imus, and the towns of Kawit, Noveleta and Rosario, all in Cavite Province.