Impeach raps to be filed versus 8 SC justices who ousted Sereno — Villarin


Opposition lawmakers will try to impeach the eight Supreme Court magistrates who voted to oust Chief Justice Maria Lourdes Sereno by granting a quo warranto petition by Solicitor General Jose Calida, Akbayan partylist Rep. Tom Villarin said on Thursday.

Villarin revealed in a media forum that he and his allies in the opposition intend to file impeachment complaints against the Associate Justices was the “next proper and logical move,” considering that they committed a culpable violation of the 1987 Constitution when they granted the quo warranto petition on May 11.

He said the Magnificent 7 bloc, of which he is a member, had indicated its intention to support the move.

They hope to file the impeachment complaints before the sine die adjournment of Congress on June 1.

The eight justices who voted to disqualify Sereno’s appointment last May 11 were Associate Justices Teresita De Castro, Francis Jardeleza, Alexander Gesmundo, Diosdado Peralta, Noel Tijam, Samuel Martires, Andres Reyes Jr., and Lucas Bersamin.

The Supreme Court voted 8-6 in granting the quo warranto petition, which sought to disqualify Sereno from her office due to her alleged failure to file her SALNs during her tenure as a University of the Philippines law professor, among others.

“The eight justices made a very unconstitutional violation by usurping the powers of the Congress,” according to Villarin.

He said only the House is mandated under the Constitution to impeach an impeachable officer, and only the Senate is mandated to try and convict him or her in an impeachment trial.