Umubra kaya? Erap to counter Manila traffic woes with ‘throwback’ project


The city government of Manila will set up this month traffic discipline zones called “Pook Kaayusan” in at least 23 identified traffic choke points in the city’s busiest areas.

Mayor Joseph Estrada said these traffic zones will be manned round-the-clock by traffic personnel who will be strictly enforcing traffic regulations.

“By the mere term itself means these areas will serve as our new model for traffic management- free-flowing vehicular and pedestrian traffic, maayos na maayos,” Estrada said.

“Walang illegal terminal o illegal parking, walang basura… sa madaling salita ay walang sagabal sa kalye,” he added.

Estrada said the 23 identified zones are the most congested areas in Manila that need extra attention.

Manila Traffic and Parking Bureau (MTPB) chief Dennis Alcoreza explained that Pook Kaayusan is similar to Pook Batayan implemented during the administration of the late former president Cory Aquino.

On September 1, 1988, Aquino issued Proclamation No. 312 identifying 19 areas in Metro Manila as strict traffic discipline zones.

Ten enforcers will be permanently assigned to each Pook Kaayusan. The enforcers will work in two shifts – from 6 am to 2 pm and 2 pm to 10 pm every day, Alcoreza added.

The 23 Pook Kaayusan identified by MTPB are: Tayuman/LRT/Rizal avenue area, Recto/Rizal avenue, Recto/Abad Santos, Plaza Ruiz/Juan Luna, Pedro Gil/Taft avenue, Pablo Ocampo/Taft, Juan Luna/Solis, Juan Luna/Capulong/Pritil, Quirino avenue /Taft, Blumentritt/España, Capulong/Velasquez, P. Burgos in front of KKK, San Marcelino/Ayala boulevard, Mendiola/Legarda streets, Arroceros/City Hall; España/Lacson, Blumentritt/Aurora, West Zamora/Quirino avenue, P.

Faura/Taft, U.N. avenue/Taft, Blumentritt/Rizal avenue, Hermosa/Rizal avenue, and Sta. Mesa/Nagtahan area.

Alcoreza said they will also put up closed-circuit television cameras in the Pook Kaayusan zones that will be constantly monitored by the command center at the city hall.